CONFEDERATIONS CUP 2017 All eyes are on Russia


CONFEDERATIONS CUP 2017 All eyes are on Russia

The rehearsal in view of the final stage of the 2018 World Cup to be held in Russia will begin on 17 June. Where else, of course, but in the same country of 145 million inhabitants (!). The 9th largest country on the planet. Which has the capital of the beautiful, Moscow. Its President, Vladimir Putin, and the federal presidential republic, on the model of the western liberal model. 

So Russia, which has spent and continues to spend millions of euros in the summer of 2018 to present a globe that fans of the world will remember for years, will now for two weeks reunite the gaze of all the fans. 

It will host the 10th FIFA Confederations Cup. The top event of 2017, which takes place every 4 years. The 16 matches will be hosted in four major cities in Russia (St. Petersburg, Moscow, Kazan and Soshi) and will run from June 17 to July 2 with the final in St. Petersburg. 


The International Federation gathered enough money from its 12 sponsors (the seven permanent plus five others) to give an additional incentive to the participating teams. Each national team will therefore only receive $ 2,000,000 for its participation regardless of results. The winner will get $ 5,000,000 and the finalist $ 4,500,000. The 3rd place will receive $ 3,500,000 and the loser of the small final, $ 3,000,000.

The eight countries consist of: From the organizing Russia, the world champion Germany, the European champion of Portugal, the African champion of Cameroon, the South American Chilean champion, the Asian champion, the champion of the Central and North American team in Mexico, and the champion Oceania New Zealand. 

Brazil, the absolute leader of the tournament that has won the trophy in the last three competitions, is largely absent. Except of course Argentina. Based on the organizational chart, the eight countries were divided into two groups with the first two qualifying in the semifinals and the first one of each group to meet the second.

In Group A there will be World Cup hosts Russia, New Zealand (OFC Nations Cup), Portugal (Euro 2016) and Mexico (CONCACAF). RUSSIA As tournament hosts, Russia qualify automatically for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup. 

Portugal beat France 1-0 in extra-time of the UEFA EURO 2016 final on 10 July 2016 to earn the right to represent Europe at the FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017. 

2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup winners México won a one-match head-to-head play-off against 2013 Gold Cup champions USA to seal their place at Russia 2017. 

New Zealand won the OFC Nations Cup, which was played in Papua New Guinea May-June 2016, and they will represent Oceania at the FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017.  

Group B will include Germany (World Cup), Chile (CONMEBOL), Australia (Asian Cup) and the Cameroon (African Cup of Nations). 

GERMANY By winning the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™, Germany guaranteed themselves a slot at the FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017. 

Group B will include Germany (World Cup), Chile (CONMEBOL), Australia (Asian Cup) and the Cameroon (African Cup of Nations). 

CHILE  will compete in the FIFA Confederations Cup for the first time after winning the 2015 Copa America. The hosts of the South American showpiece triumphed, beating Argentina 4-1 on penalties. 

Cameroon will represent Africa after winning the CAF Africa Cup of Nations Gabon 2017. The Indomitable Lions came from behind to beat Egypt 2-1 in the final in February. 

Australia qualified for Russia 2017 by winning the 2015 AFC Asian Cup. The Socceroos lifted the trophy on home soil, edging out Korea Republic 2-1 in a dramatic final on 31 January 2015. 


Previous winners  

Brazil have been the most dominant force, winning the tournament four times, whilst France have won it twice and Mexico once. 

1997 – Brazil 

1999 – Mexico 

2001 – France 

2003 – France 

2005 – Brazil 

2009 – Brazil 

2013 – Brazil 

For Manos Staramopoulos 

Journalist- Analyst of International Football and Affairs 


Special correspondent:France Football, A Bola, Mundo Deportivo 


La Imperdible

Erika Canella. La Miss BumBum que rechazó a CR7

Erika Canella, es una despampanante modelo de tan sólo 24 años que actualmente ostenta la corona de \"Miss BumBum 2016\" o lo que es lo mismo, el mejor trasero de Brasil, un concurso que se...

CLINARTE DENTAL Salud y Estética Dental